help | add your award | login / update | cookies
Powered by
You are here: Home / Sustainability Leaders Awards
Award Name Sustainability Leaders Awards
Address Faversham House Ltd
Windsor Court
Wood Street
East Grinstead
West Sussex
RH19 1UZ
Telephone 01342 332000
Fax 01342 332001
Email Click here to send an email

Main Contact
Contact Angela Himus
Other Contact Will Parsons

Details Building on the success of the past five years, the edie Awards for Environmental Excellence are moving with the times. UK businesses have moved beyond narrow ‘environmental’ concerns and are working hard to embed sustainability throughout their operations.

To capture this change and celebrate just what it takes to be in the vanguard of sustainability, we have refreshed the award categories, teamed up with Sustainable Business magazine, and changed our name to bring you the new Sustainability Leaders Awards – the UK’s premier awards event for those demonstrating leadership and innovation in sustainability in both the private and public sectors.

Like its predecessor, the Sustainability Leaders Awards remains one of the few environmental awards schemes accredited by the RSA as an official feeder scheme for the European Commission’s EBAEs (European Business Awards for the Environment). This means our winners are deemed to be among the elite of UK award winners and, as such, have earned access to the European awards.

A new name deserves a new venue, so this year the Sustainability Leaders Awards will move from The Hurlingham Club to Central London’s luxury The Grange at St. Paul’s, taking place on December 5th. This means, for the first time, guests will be able to book rooms at the venue itself and make use of all the facilities both before and after the event.

Enter the awards HERE

Case Studies Underframe Washer at Tyseley Light Maintenance Depot - Hyder Consulting Case Study

Entry Requirements Entry for the 2012 Sustainability Leaders Awards has now closed. View the shortlist here:!

Eligibility: Please Note - While there are no restrictions on the launch or completion dates for entries, the judges will be looking to assess benefits and achievements that are relevant to the current judging period of no more than 2 years before the entry deadline.
Entry Fee £95.00
Criteria Summary
Judges 2012 Judges:

Rt Hon Lord Smith of Finsbury (Chris Smith)
Chairman of the Environment Agency

Jonathon Porritt
Founder director of Forum for the Future

Peter Jones OBE
Founder Director Ecolateral

Dr Peter Bonfield
Chief Executive of BRE

Liz Parkes
Head of Climate Change, Environment Agency

Tom Stephenson
Head of Applied Sciences, Cranfield University

Joanna Yarrow
Director of Beyond Green

Ed Gillespie
Director of sustainable communication consultants Futerra

Paul Scott

Jan Chmiel
IEMA Chief Executive

Jonathan Murray
Interim Managing Director, Low Carbon Vehicle Partnership
Cash Value £0
RSA Accredited Yes

Established 01/01/2007
Last Award 03/11/2011
Next Award No date entered
Closing Date 01/05/2012

Previous Winners Previous winners include: Marks & Spencer, Coca Cola, Mitsubishi Electric and British Telecom.

Other Info Awards categories:

Waste & resource management:
Recognising the best examples of effective waste and resources management, including lean manufacturing, design for life, waste minimisation and symbiosis projects.

Carbon management:
Recognising the best examples of effective carbon management, including emissions reduction, footprinting and labelling, use of software, target setting, carbon management integration and metering and controls.

Renewable energy:
Recognising the best examples of renewable energy projects, technologies and solutions in action, including wind, tidal, solar, biomass, heat, geothermal and hydro, with their application, use and results in mind.

Sustainable building:
Recognising the best examples of sustainability in building construction, refurbishment and retrofit, including heating, lighting, building controls and materials.

Sustainable transport:
Recognising the best examples of the use of transport in a sustainable manner, from customer transport schemes and business travel plans, to new technologies and initiatives.

Water management:
Recognising the best examples of effective water management, including water efficiency, risk strategies, collaboration and partnership schemes, footprinting and data management.

Energy efficiency:
Recognising the best examples of energy efficiency in action, including energy reduction strategies, employee engagement and training, energy footprinting, target setting, metering and controls and retrofit activity.

Stakeholder engagement:
Recognising the best examples of measurable stakeholder engagement - including employees, senior management, customers, suppliers or investors. How did you get them on board with your sustainability strategy.

Sustainability reporting:
Recognising the best examples of sustainability reporting, with special attention paid to the scope of the report, materiality issues, design and communications, interactivity, stakeholder engagement, level of disclosure, assurance credibility and transparency.

Sustainability communications:
Recognising the best examples of effective sustainability communications, including creativity, understanding the audience relationship to sustainability, creating value and gaining competitive advantage through sustainability via comms, awareness generation and reach.

Sustainability practitioner:
Recognising excellence in sustainability policy implementation, this award is for those individuals who are making sustainable business strategies work in practice at an operational level.

Sustainability leader:
Recognising those strategists who are leading from the front within their organisation, formulating sustainability policies, initiating change and embodying board-level engagement.

Last updated 23/10/2012 13:09:00